This is the "Home" page of the "Persistent Links" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Instructions for creating persistent links for GCU Library databases.
Last Updated: Sep 10, 2014 URL: http://libguides.gcu.edu/PersistentLinks Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Hours

Ask a Librarian Service Hours:

Mon-Fri         7am - 10pm MST

Sat-Sun

10am - 10pm MST

Building Hours

Mon-Thu       7am-Midnight MST
Fri 7am-10pm MST
Sat 10am-10pm MST
Sun 10am-Midnight MST

 

Contact Information

Questions?

Ask A Librarian

Toll Free:  

1.800.800.9776 

  

ext. 6396641

Phone: 

602.639.6641

 

Chat with a Librarian

Chat Hours:

Monday - Friday

9am - 4pm MST

 

 

What is a Persistent Link?

What is a Persistent Link?

A Persistent Link is a web address or URL that can be used to directly access a book, an article, streaming media, or a list of search results in a library database. When you click on an eLibrary link in your online classroom, you are using a Persistent Link.  You may want to use these links to share articles of interest with your classmates or to post in your online discussion boards. 

This guide provides instructions for creating Persistent Links in most of the databases available through the library.

Note: You will still be prompted to log in to access articles when using a persistent link.

Why not copy the URL in the address bar of the web browser?

This may work in some cases, but not all.  Many databases have a timeout function built in.  Because of this, each time you access the database a Session ID is assigned to your search.  If you copy and paste the URL from the address bar in your browser, this URL will stop functioning once your session has timed out. 

One way to identify if a link is a session link is to look for the letters SID followed by a series of numbers and/or letters in the URL.  If you see that, you are looking at a session link.

 

What is a DOI?

DOI stands for Digital Object Identifier.  A DOI is similar to a Persistent Link. It is a way that you can link directly to a document found in a database. Not all online documents have a DOI.  Some of the library databases use DOIs in persistent links.  In some cases, some articles in a database will have a DOI while others will not.

More information on DOI's can be found here http://www.doi.org/.

 

Printable Guide

This guide includes information on how to create persistent links to content in various databases. For a printable list of instructions, please click on the PDF below.

Related Guides

You may find the information in these guides useful as well:

Librarian

Profile Image
Karen Grondin
My Favorite Quote:
"Outside of a book, a dog is a man's best friend. Inside a book, it's too dark to read." ~ Groucho Marx
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip