Business Source Complete Tutorial
This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Business" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Feb 14, 2014 URL: http://libguides.gcu.edu/Business Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Hours

Ask a Librarian Service Hours:

Mon-Fri         7am - 10pm MST

Sat-Sun

10am - 10pm MST

Building Hours

Mon-Thu       7am-Midnight MST
Fri 7am-10pm MST
Sat 10am-10pm MST
Sun 10am-Midnight MST

 

Contact Information

Questions?

Ask A Librarian

Toll Free:  

1.800.800.9776 

  

ext. 6396641

Phone: 

602.639.6641

 

Chat with a Librarian

Chat Hours:

Monday - Friday

9am - 4pm MST

 

 

Business- Welcome!

This guide is designed to be the starting point for research in Business. The tabs above will take you to a variety of sources on various topics, including recommended search engines and library databases, influential books, videos, websites, tutorials and tips on effective searching.

If you are stumped at any point, please contact the Grand Canyon Library and the Fleming Library staff . Call, send us an email or catch us on chat and we'll personally help you find an answer!

 

Defining Scholarly Resources

Scholarly Resources: scholarly resources is broad category of formally created sources written by authorities in a field with a focus on a subject matter within a specific discipline and intended for an academic audience..

Examples of Scholarly Resources include: Academic journals, books written by experts in a field, and formally published encyclopedias and dictionaries.

Primary Sources: “original records created at the time historical events occurred or well after events in the form of memoirs and oral histories." (ALA 2008). http://www.ala.org/rusa/sections/history/resources/pubs/usingprimarysources

Examples of primary sources include: Photographs, letters, historical documents, data sets, and audio recordings.

Peer Reviewed Journals:  This type of academic journal requires that prior to publication an article must go through a “review” by experts in the subject discipline that the journal covers. This process ensures that the articles published within the journal are academically rigorous and meet the required expectations of an article in that subject discipline.

Empirical Article: This type of scholarly resource is a subset of scholarly articles that reports the original finding of an observational and/or experimental research study. Common aspects found within an empirical article include: literature review, methodology, results, and discussion.

Top Business Sites and Periodicals

  • Bloomberg Business
    Discover current business news, opinions, market data and much more on this highly influential website.
  • The Economist
    Access articles from this authoritative and respected periodical. Full text access is available through the GCU library from 1992 to present.
  • Harvard Business Review
    One of the top Business Journals in the industry, this link provides full text access for articles published from 1922 to present.
  • The Wall Street Journal
    This well known and respected periodical is available in full text from 1984 to present.
 

Search Credo Reference

Search 500+ reference books with one click!

 

Printable Guide

The printable guide below includes a list of resources that are useful for Business Research.

Librarian

Profile Image
Heather Lausten
 

GCU Library Twitter Feed

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip